As an outcome of the recommendations of the National Policy in Education (1986) which laid special emphasis on upholding the quality of higher education in India, the University Grants Commission (UGC) established the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) in 1994 to assess and accredit institutions of higher education in the country. In pursuance of its Action Plan for performance evaluation, assessment, and accreditation and quality up-gradation of institutions of higher education, the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), proposes that every accredited institution should establish an Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) as a post-accreditation quality sustenance measure. Since quality enhancement is a continuous process, the IQAC will become a part of the institution’s system and work towards the realization of the goals of quality enhancement and sustenance. The prime task of the IQAC is to develop a system for conscious, consistent, and catalytic improvement in the overall performance of institutions. For this, during the post-accreditation period, it will channelize all efforts and measures of the institution towards promoting its holistic academic excellence.

An Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) was constituted in St. Gregorios College, soon after its first accreditation in 2006. The IQAC had led the College in post-accreditation quality sustenance and enhancement until the College was re-accredited by the NAAC in March 2015. Now the College is heading towards the second re-accreditation process and the College IQAC is on its toes for a splendid performance.

                                                        MEMBERS OF IQAC

Dr Sumi Alex : Chairperson and Head of the Institution
Dr. Jubin Mattappallil : Vice- Principal
Rev. Fr. D Georgekutty, Administrator : Management Representative
Dr. Krishnakumar V, Assistant Professor in Physics : IQAC Coordinator
Dr Remya R, Assistant Professor in Chemistry : IQAC Convenor
Mr. Prince P, Superintendent, College Office : Senior Administrative Officer
Shri S.R. Ramesh, Municipal Chairman, Kottarakkara Municipality : Eminent person from Local Society  
Shri Anil Kumar, Vice- President, PTA : Nominee from Stakeholders (Parents)
Dr. Padma L Suresh, Principal, BMMII College of Engineering, Sasthamcotta, Kollam District : Nominee from Industrialists
Dr. V.S. Rajeev, Director, VIJAYA HOSPITAL Kottarakkara : Nominee from Employers
Mr. Rajukutty O, Vice President, SGC Alumni : Alumni Representative
Dr. Francis Chacko, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Chemistry : Faculty Member
Mr Shalaj R, Assistant Professor, Dept of  Botany : Faculty Member
Mrs. Anslin TM Assistant Professor, Dept. of Mathematics   : Faculty Member
Mr. Kevin Thomas Villoth. Assistant Professor, Dept. of Commerce : Faculty Member
Dr. Binil P Sasidharan, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Chemistry : Faculty Member
Mrs. Sreelekshmi Jayan, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Political Science : Faculty Member
Mrs Geethu Thomas, Assistant Professor, Dept. of English : Faculty Member
Dr. Paul John, Librarian : Faculty Member
Mr. Abhiram D. S, 4th Semester, BSc Mathematics : Nominee from Students



  1. Dr. Sajeesh S : Department of English
  2. Fr. Biji P : Department of Oriental Languages
  3. Dr. Jino Nainan : Department of Mathematics
  4. Mrs. Anju Alex : Department of Chemistry
  5. Mr. Shalaj R : Department of Botany
  6. Mrs. Lincy Alex : Department of Zoology
  7. Mrs. Sreelakshmi Jayan : Department of Political Science
  8. Dr. Sumi Alex : Department of Commerce

Two day National Seminar on Research Methodology in Science during 28th February 2023 to 1st March 2023


© Copyright 2020 - St. Gregorios College, Kottarakara. All Rights Reserved.