The Department of Chemistry came into being in 1964. It has been a Post Graduate department since 1995. Currently, the department offers a three-year B.Sc. Chemistry program, as well as the two-year M.Sc. Chemistry programs. It also provides complimentary courses to B.Sc. Botany, B.Sc. Physics and B.Sc. Zoology. Other notable courses provided include:

  • Add-on course on “Chemistry of Household Cleaning Products.”
  • Open course on “Essentials of Chemistry” (for S5 Under Graduate students).

The department has maintained an excellent academic record and has produced several university toppers over the years. It takes pride in having nurtured many distinguished alumni, a number of whom are currently serving as faculty members. The department has been working methodically to improve the higher education and employment prospects of its students by conducting regular coaching programs for Joint Admission for M.Sc. (J.A.M.), National Eligibility Test (N.E.T), and P.S.C. examinations.

The department has ten faculty members at the moment, including five PhD holders. Dr. Francis Chacko is the current Head of Department.

© Copyright 2020 - St. Gregorios College, Kottarakara. All Rights Reserved.