The Department of Political Science was instituted in 1980. It offers a three-year B.A. programme in Political Science. Further courses provided by the department include:

  • Add-on course on “Threshold to the Indian Constitution”
  • Open course on “Human Rights in India” (for S5 Under Graduate students of other departments)

The department strives to groom students into democratically conscious and socially committed individuals. The faculty and students have been at the forefront of several worthy causes, the most recent example being their admirable contributions to flood relief efforts in the state. The Political Science association endeavors to provide platforms for students to excel at the curricular and co-curricular levels. The POLSA 2019 intercollegiate academic and cultural fest was one such initiative in this respect. Since 2016, the department has also been hosting the highly anticipated Jijil Memorial Inter-departmental Quiz in memory of the late student Jijil Thomas.

The department has three faculty members at present. Ms. SreelakshmiJayan is the current Head of Department.

© Copyright 2020 - St. Gregorios College, Kottarakara. All Rights Reserved.