The Department of Mathematics has been functioning since the inception of the college in 1964 In its early years the department was guided by doyens such as Prof. A.C. Kunjoonjamma (the first Head of Department) and the late Prof. Gopinatha Pillai. Since 1981, the department has been offering the Under Graduate programme B.Sc. Mathematics as well as complementary courses for B.Sc. Physics and B.Sc. Chemistry. Additional courses offered include:

  • Add-on course on “Skills in  Basic Arithmetic, Reasoning and Logic”
  • Bridge course on “Basics of Arithmetic and Algebra”
  • Open course on “Operations Research” (for S5 Under Graduate studentsof other departments)

The department’s academic performance has been exceptional, with both B.Sc. and M.Sc. students bagging top ranks in University exams. The department has been organising seminars and workshops both at the state and national levels since its inception, notably in association with National Mathematics Day (NMD) celebrations. It aims to be a nationally recognisable department that promotes high quality academic pursuits, and produces well trained professionals in Mathematics with excellent academic standards, ethics and integrity.

The department has a faculty strength of eight, including one PhD holder. Dr.JinoNainan is the current Head of Department.

© Copyright 2020 - St. Gregorios College, Kottarakara. All Rights Reserved.